Lasseter, Catmull Honored by Variety

Disney/Pixar’s John Lasseter and Ed Catmull shared Variety’s Creative Impact in Animation Award as part of the trade pub’s inaugural 10 Animators to Watch event Tuesday night at Siren Studios in Hollywood, feted by Variety and Nickelodeon. Dana Lamb of Cal State Fullerton was also presented with the Animation Educator of the Year award.

Meanwhile, here are the up and coming animators: Pixar’s head of story Josh Cooley (Inside Out and co-director of Toy Story 4); Disney vis dev artists Lorelay Bove (Big Hero 6) and Brittney Lee (Frozen); DreamWorks’ Thomas Grummt (How to Train Your Dragon 2); Warner Bros. Animation character designer Phil Bourassa (Justice League: Throne of Atlantis); Paramount Animation’s Dylan Brown (a former Pixar vet); Blue Sky’s Nick Bruno (Epic); Illumination’s Miguel Jiron (Despicable Me); the Layzell Brothers: Matt, who works at Nickelodeon (Sanjay and Craig), and Paul, a freelance illustrator; Disney Channel’s Daron Nefcy (Sailor Moon); and Timothy Reckart (Head Over Heels).

Lasseter talked about the importance of mentoring and nurturing and how he vowed to never stifle animators’ creativity after he was held back during his initial stint at Disney; Catmull told me that that Inside Out is the first Pixar film to be completed ahead of schedule and that it’s a very different film for them.

Read the rest at Animation Scoop/Indiewire.

Posted on by Bill Desowitz in Animation, Below the Line, Education, Events, Movies, Shorts, Tech, Virtual Production

Add a Comment