Frozen, MU, DM2, Croods Dominate Annie Noms

Universal/Illumination’s blockbuster Despicable Me 2 led the 41st Annie Award nominations with a total of 11 (nine if you discount the short and commercial nods); however, Disney’s record-breaking Frozen (which bowed with $93.6 million over the Thanksgiving holiday) and Pixar’s Monsters University dominated the movie categories with 10, while DreamWorks’ The Croods also scored nine.

Meanwhile, Steven Spielberg, Phil Tippett, and Katsuhiro Otomo will be honored with Winsor McCay lifetime achievement awards at the ceremony on Saturday, Feb. 1, 2014 at UCLA’s Royce Hall (hosted by Patrick Warburton).

A few omissions that leap out:  No director nom for Miyazaki, Frozen didn’t get an effects nod for its innovative snow, and Gravity is a no show for live-action animated effects because it wasn’t submitted.

The nominees for Best Animated Features  include: A Letter to Momo (GKIDS), Despicable Me 2 Ernest & Celestine (GKIDS), FrozenMonsters UniversityThe Croods, and The Wind Rises (Studio Ghibli and The Walt Disney Studios).

Film directing noms went to Chris Sanders and Kirk DeMicco for The Croods, David Soren for Turbo, Chris Wedge for Epic, Benjamin Renner, Vince Patar and Stephane Aubier for Ernest & Celestine, and Chris Buck and Jennifer Lee for Frozen.

Noms for animated short are Despicable Me 2 — Puppy, Disney’s Get a Horse, the National Film Board of Canada’s Gloria Victoria, Acme Filmworks’ My Mom Is an Airplane, and Moonbot’s The Numberlys.

Voice acting noms went to Paul Giamatti in Turbo, Terry Crews in Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs 2, Kristin Wiig, Steve Carell, and Pierre Coffin for Despicable Me 2, Billy Crystal for Monsters University, and Josh Gad for Frozen.

Animated effects in a live-action production noms were shared by Man of Steel (Weta Digital), Star Trek Into Darkness (ILM), and Pacific Rim (ILM).

Character animation noms in a live-action production went to Gollum and Goblin King from The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey  (Weta Digital) and Pacific Rim (ILM).

The June Foray Award will go to Alice Davis for her significant and benevolent or charitable impact on the art and industry of animation.

Get the full list of nominees at the Annie Awards site.

Posted on by Bill Desowitz in 3-D, Animation, Annies, Below the Line, Events, Movies, performance capture, previs, Shorts, Tech, VFX, Virtual Production

Add a Comment