ADG Nominations Announced

The Art Directors Guild announced its nominations for production design, which include such indies as The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and The Impossible as well the more grounded Flight. Otherwise, the nominees encompass a diverse range of prestigious contenders.

Deadline for final voting, which is done online, is Jan. 31. The black-tie ceremony revealing and honoring winners will take place Saturday, Feb. 2, from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills with Paula Poundstone serving as host for the fourth consecutive year.

Production designer Herman Zimmerman will be the recipient of the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Hall of Fame inductees are Preston Ames, Richard MacDonald, and Edward S. Stephenson. The production designers behind the James Bond franchise, Sir Ken Adam, Allan Cameron, Dennis Gassner, and Peter Lamont, will be honored for Outstanding Contribution to Cinematic Imagery.

The nominees for excellence in production design for a feature film in 2012 are:

Period Film
Anna Karenina
Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood

Production Designer: Sharon Seymour

Django Unchained
Production Designer: J. Michael Riva

Les Miserables
Production Designer: Eve Stewart

Production Designer: Rick Carter

Fantasy Film
Cloud Atlas
Production Designers: Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup

Life of Pi
Production Designer: David Gropman

Production Designer: Arthur Max

The Dark Knight Rises
Production Designers: Nathan Crowley, Kevin Kavanaugh

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Production Designer: Dan Hannah

Contemporary Film
Production Designer: Nelson Coates

Production Designer: Dennis Gassner

The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel
Production Designer: Alan MacDonald

The Impossible
Production Designer: Eugenio Caballero

Zero Dark Thirty
Production Designer: Jeremy Hindle

Posted on by Bill Desowitz in 3-D, Below the Line, James Bond, Movies, Production Design, Tech, Virtual Production

Add a Comment